The Twists and Turns

I recently heard about a Chinese legend that I found to be quite beautiful. The legend goes;

An invisible red thread connects those who are destined to meet, regardless time, place or circumstance. The thread may stretch or tangle but it will never break.

I love to think about it. It is something that I have always thought about though. What if my actions, a simple smile, or a compliment affected someone is such a way that it changed their life? Or what if because of what I did to someone else it made their day that they then went on to do the same thing and change another persons life?

If you take a step back and look at where you are now and how you got there and who helped you become who you are? What did a certain person say or do to cause you to change who you are? Even if it wasn’t the best situation at the time it helped you become the person you are today.

I look back and what made me who I am today. The people who built me up and the people who broke me down. I am not afraid to admit, now, that I have done things that I have regretted. I am now just learning how to deal with it and that it had to happen to bring me to where I am today. I use to surround, and will probably do so again, myself with people who tore me down so much I spiralled into a deep depression where I thought I was worth nothing and could do nothing. At the time it almost killed me but as I look back on it, as I move forward now, I realize that if I wasn’t hurt the way I was, if I didn’t put myself in those situations or stop what had happened I know that I wouldn’t be where I am at today. Now I am not meaning to put anyone down but really thank you. Thank you for doing what you did to me because now I know what I want and how I want to conduct myself each day.

I also think if I had not met certain people, or worked at certain jobs where people who have either gone through similar situations or worse situations than I did I would not be moving to Virginia in the next month. The people, the friends, that have gone through things like sexual abuse, emotionally abusive relationships, or mental illnesses. I would not be going into a career where I want nothing more than to protect the people who this is happening to every day. The people without a voice, who are either to emotionally or physically tired or that have no resources to get out of it.

Ask anyone close to me, I am not afraid to stick up for myself or for others. I hope to always be that way. I grew up being taught to always stick up for myself and for those who can’t. That no matter how crappy your life is there are people going through much worse, but you still have no right to treat them horribly.

There are the people though who are the good influences. The friends and family that have stuck by me through all the tears and depression. The people who encouraged me to get up each day and keep pushing forward and who encouraged as well as kindly criticized me as I chose what to do next. I hope those of you that saved me know who you are. If not I have a lot of thank you’s and hugs to give out.

I have no idea how many people will actually read my blog let alone be affected by it, this pot in particular. My hopes are that I was able to read the one person that needed to hear this. I also just want to say thank you to the people who both helped me and hurt me because in less than a month I am going to be working toward my dream job because of what you did for and too me.

Leave a Reply

